Egypt Snubs 'new' Seven Wonders.

July 08 2007

Cairo - Egypt said on Sunday that the pyramids of Giza remained the only
wonder of the world, snubbing a contest in which seven "new" wonders were
selected by Internet and telephone voters as having "no value."

Seven new wonders of the world, including the Great Wall of China and the
Taj Mahal in India, were selected at a star-studded event in Lisbon
Saturday after nearly 100 million voters made their choice out of a list
of 21 sites.

"This contest will not detract from the value of the pyramids, which is
the only real wonder of the world," Egypt's antiquities supremo Zahi
Hawass told AFP.

He said the competition "has no value," because "the masses do not write

Egypt was enraged when it was initially included in the competition,
describing as "ridiculous" the fact that the only surviving wonder of the
ancient world be put to a vote.

In April, competition organisers removed the pyramids of Giza from the
list and granted it the title of "Honorary New7Wonders."

A private Swiss foundation launched the contest in January, allowing
voters to choose between 21 sites short-listed from 77 selected by a jury.

It said it had gathered nearly 100 million votes by the end of polling at
midnight Friday.

But Hawass said the new wonders would simply fade in people's memories
once the media hype was over.

"After several months, ask anyone to name the (new) choices, they won't be
able to remember them," he said.

"But if you ask any primary school pupil, they could still list the
ancient wonders of the world."

back6.gif (2217 bytes)